My Funniest Travel Pictures

Ken Taro
3 min readDec 23, 2022

A picture is worth a thousand laughs.

Picture of an ice cream stand in Malmo, Sweden.
An ice cream parlor in Malmo, Sweden. Slut in Swedish means “final, over, or out.” In this case, it appears that it translates to “sold out.”

As an avid traveler (at least from what my budget allows), I do the best I can to live in the moment and limit the number of photos I take. I typically reserve snapshots for those that can’t be found on postcards or Google image searches. My digital renditions of the Trevi Fountain aren’t particularly noteworthy, as they are a Euro a dozen. Instead, I capture moments that are filled with urgency.

  1. A goat urinating on a wall. No matter how old I get, toilet humor will always be funny to me.
Goat urinating on wall.
Location: Oman.

2. As a native Okinawan, Engrish will also always make me laugh.

A sign in Japanese translated into English as “Tool to tie up horse noses in order to let them behave themselves.”
Location: Nago, Okinawa, Japan.

3. Advertisements in Japanese magazines never fail to amuse me.

Magazine advertisement of two cats riding on the back of an eagle.
Location: Nago, Okinawa, Japan.

4. I had never heard of Jew’s ears as food items before, so imagine my surprise when I encountered this beauty. Bonus points that the dish is…

--

--

Ken Taro

Writer, satirist, and humorist. You can find my best work on my mom’s refrigerator.