CDC Wondering If It’s Even Worth It to Warn Against Drinking Gasoline

Ken Taro
3 min readJun 4, 2021
Photo by Hans Eiskonen on Unsplash

ATLANTA — After watching scores of citizens hoarding gasoline in plastic grocery bags and laundry baskets at their local Shell stations, the Centers for Disease Control revealed they had a tough decision to make: whether or not they should even bother warning Americans to avoid drinking fuel.

“I don’t even know what the fuck is going on anymore,” scoffed CDC Director Rochelle P. Walensky, MD, MPH, in a private interview. “Although it is my sworn duty to promote the general health of our population, I am starting to rethink my strategies. I’ve gotten to the point where I might actually recommend consuming gasoline so that people will do the opposite.”

“It is my medical and professional opinion that stupidity is the number one public health crisis at the moment,” continued Dr. Walenski. “We employ hundreds of scientists and doctors who earned advanced degrees from Harvard, Johns Hopkins, MIT, etc., but much of the general populace would rather believe a meme some random guy who believes in lizard people made on Windows 95 and then shared on Facebook.”

Just as Dr. Walenski suspected, many people admitted they would ignore the organization’s guidelines anyway.

“I don’t trust the CDC or that Faucet guy,” snarled Cletus Johnson, a QAnon conspiracy theorist…

--

--

Ken Taro

Writer, satirist, and humorist. You can find my best work on my mom’s refrigerator.